Matthias Annexstad Named Outstanding Junior in Animal Science

April 23, 2021

Matthias is the current Gopher Dairy Club president and has served as president of DTS fraternity, secretary of the Ag Business Club and treasurer of NAMA. He participates in collegiate dairy judging, the NAMA student marketing competition and the Animal Science Quadrathlon. Matthias has also assisted with ruminant nutrition research.

This is the 38th year that the Robert W. Touchberry Award has been presented to the outstanding junior majoring in Animal Science. The award is presented in honor of Dr. Robert Touchberry, who was head of the Department of Animal Science from 1970 to 1982 and completed research in dairy cattle genetics. Dr. Touchberry passed away in 2011 but has left a lasting legacy. The recipient of the Touchberry award is selected by the department’s scholarship committee based on academics, leadership, and participation in student activities on the St. Paul Campus. The awardees’ name is inscribed on a plaque showcased in Haecker Hall.